Not that kind of writer – Lena Dunham


My favourite bookshop in Sweden is one in a train station. I like it not only because it is one of the most colourful places in Stockholm but mostly because i can do the two things I very much love. Which are 1) reading books and 2) watching people (especially those running past with papers falling out of their briefcases to catch their trains). Sometimes, if there is no one watching, I judge the book by smelling it.

Today, as I strut down the train station with my blue train card in my mouth and my hands wrestling to close the zipper pocket, I noticed on the announcement board that my train would arrive in 6 minutes. I looked to my right, and, as cliché as it might sound, it was there. The bookshop I mean, on my right, and besides the two ladies who work there, completely empty.

The shop didn’t have the book I wanted to read. So instead I looked on the back of Ellen Degeneres’s book, and wondered if she had really written it herself. Then I accidentally passed the “New in” section. These are the elite books, the upper class of the books, the most expensive ones.

Then I noticed a book I knew. I haven’t read it yet, but I know it as I wrote a post about it. I read the introduction in the book and immediately decided I liked it, so I made the most impulsive decision this month.

A little later I stood outside looking in the little purple bag Lena Dunham’s Not that Kind of girl, 200 kronor poorer, while people ran around me to get on time for my train.

81ZqOFyzSjL

In the train i started reading, and immediately I noticed Lena’s distinctive voice. The honesty in her voice. Her honesty, her truth, about life, virginity, losing it, falling in love, being on a diet, friendships, same sex love, work, education, death and family. Though I am only two chapters in, I’m already hooked.

Lena’s voice is now narrating her own words, while I turn the pages.

Trust me when I tell you that I already love this book.

I will tell you my final thoughts when I finish it ❤

3 thoughts on “Not that kind of writer – Lena Dunham

Leave a Reply

