A thank you letter to the employee at the bookshop


Dear pregnant employee at the Pocketshop bookshop,

I walked into bookshop quite clueless. First walking around, then pausing at the English bookshelf waging between a book about a streetcat named Bob that reminds me of Garfield, and the first book of Game of Thrones. I’m not very good at making a decision between books because I always feel like I’m leaving something, a possible memory, a possible learning experience, behind on the purple bookshelves of your shop.

When I asked you to help me you took me on an adventure from New York to Istanbul, even though we were standing in a small purple themed bookstore in a subway station during all the trips. The way you spoke about the books in a British accent with a faint Swedish pronunciation, while nearly acting out the plots with your hands like Italians made me realise something.

large-19

That maybe it’s not the most successful women we should look up to.

But the passionate ones.

Thank you for this. And your recommendation of Tina Fey’s biography: Bossypants off course. I have already finished half of it in less than two hours in the airplane. It made me laugh out loud, like you predicted, and I like it even better than Lena Dunham’s Not That Kind Of Girl.

Next time I will buy the other book you recommended. With the blue cover and an illustration of a woman with big round sunglasses on.

See you next time // Joy

2 thoughts on “A thank you letter to the employee at the bookshop

  1. I love this post! It’s nice to put down in writing the appreciation for something that’s small, but can make a big difference, and you wrote it in a beautifully concise and simple way. I was also wondering, where did you get the pictures for this post? I love both of them! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

