Italian for beginners


Buonasera, goodevening.

Io mi chiamo Joy, my name is Joy.

Ed io ti daro dei “tips” per parlare Italiano. And I will give you some advice to speak Italian.

First things first (I’m the realest, I knew you were thinking that 😛 ), a few rules for the pronunciation.

An a at the end of a word is pronounced like an: ah.

An e at the end of a word is not pronounced like an ay or an ee, but rather like a short: eh.  

An i is pronounced: ee.

pr is pronounced with a rolling r, so Prrrrr. Try it, the roll comes from the tip of your tongue in the front of your mouth.

large-33

The basics:

Buonasera 
Buònásérà

Good evening.

Buongiorno
Buóndzjiórnò

Good day.

Io mi chiamo *insert your name*.
Iò mì kiámò *your name*

My name is….

Io vengo da *insert country you come from*
Iò wengò dà "insert country you come from*

I come from….

Grazie
Gratsiéh

Thank you

Don’t say Gratsy, but rather but an “eh” at the end, so Gratsi-eh.

Io vorrei una Coca Cola. 
Iò wor-ray una Coca Cola

I’d like a Coca Cola.

Prego
Praygò

You are welcome

Per favore
Per fáfòreh

Please

Io vorrei una Coca Cola, per favore.
Iò wor-ray una Coca Cola, per fáfòreh

I’d like a Coca Cola, please.

Dov'e l'Hotel?
Dò fè lotel?

Where is the hotel?

Io
Ee-ò

I

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mio
Mee-ò

My

Sinistra
Sínístraa

Left

Destra
Dèstrá

Right

Quanto costa?
Kwantoh Kòstá?

How much does it cost?

Arivederci
A-rîwèderrtsjî

Goodbye until we meet again.

With that I’ll also end this post,

Merry Christmas everybody! I am spending this Christmas in Italy, with a lot of food 🙂

If you have any suggestions for future posts, or if you want to ask me something just ask me below in the comments and I’ll answer asap. 🙂

Arivederci,

Joy

2 thoughts on “Italian for beginners

  1. Joy sei italiana o norvegese ? Io sono Giuseppe abito a Caltanissetta e trovo la tua lezione di italiano molto bella . Avessi avuto una maestra come te alle elementari ora sarei in parlamento , ma sempre contro quel cornuto di Berlusconi

    Like

    1. Ciao Giuseppe,
      Io sono Italiana, ma vivo in Svezia. Ahaha Grazie 🙂 il mio Italiano non e perfetto, ma sto lavorando a migliorarlo.
      // Joy

      Like

Leave a Reply

